- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Fondmarknaden’s Funds of 2016

- Advertisement -

Stockholm (HedgeNordic) – Fondmarknadan.se has announced the winners of its “Best Funds of 2016” awards. Conditions for nomination to the awards are that all funds are actively managed and that smaller funds have demonstrated considerable progress in the course of the year.

Following a turbulent financial year with falling interest rates, great uncertainty in connection with global developments and the significant outcomes of elections in Britain and the United States, Fondmarknadan.se presented its funds of the year through twelve categories. From the 2016 winners, it is apparent that Swedish managers are performing well in the current international environment. Through eleven distinguished categories there is a presence of nine Swedish actors.

Worth noting is that many of the winning funds for 2016 come from smaller management firms that are all actively managed. No indexed fund is among the 2016 winners. A minority of index funds made it to the final rounds. The theme that smaller management firms are performing well is recognizable from the previous year, rendering it interesting to observe the trend clearly.

“Could it be that smaller funds find it easier to find allocators than their larger competitors?,” Thomas Holström and Filip Szymanski, capital managers at Fondmarknadan.se inquire.

The 2016 winners were as follows:

  • Hedge Fund of the Year: PriorNilsson Yield
  • Ethical Fund of the Year: SEB Hallbarhetsfond Global
  • Bond Fund of the Year: Spiltan Fonder Räntefond Sverige
  • Branch Fund of the Year: Skandia Time Global
  • Swedish Fund of the Year: PriorNilsson Realinvest A
  • Nordic Fund of the Year: Handelsbanken Finder AB Nordiska Smabolagsfond
  • European Fund of the Year: INVESCO Continental European Small Cap Equity Fund (a)
  • North American Fund of the Year: SEB Nordamerikafond Sma och Medelstora Bolag
  • Japan Fund of the Year: M&G Securities Japan Smaller Companies Fund
  • Emerging Markets Fund of the Year: Tundra Fonder AB Frontier Opportunities Fund
  • Global Fund of the Year: Evli Fondbolag Global
  • Fund of the Year (all categories): Handelsbanken Fonder AB Nordiska Smabolagsfond
  • Manager of the Year: PriorNilsson


Picture: (c) OlegDoroshin—shutterstock.com

Subscribe to HedgeBrev, HedgeNordic’s weekly newsletter, and never miss the latest news!

Our newsletter is sent once a week, every Friday.

Glenn Leaper, PhD
Glenn Leaper, PhD
Glenn W. Leaper, Associate Editor and Political Risk Analyst with Nordic Business Media AB, completed his Ph.D. in Politics and Critical Theory from Royal Holloway, University of London in 2015. He is involved with a number of initiatives, including political research, communications consulting (speechwriting), journalism and writing his post-doctoral book. Glenn has an international background spanning the UK, France, Austria, Spain, Belgium and his native Denmark. He holds an MA in English and a BA in International Relations.

Latest Articles

Rhenman’s Healthcare Fund Transitions to Article 8 Classification

Stockholm (HedgeNordic) – Since its inception in mid-2009, the Rhenman healthcare fund has focused on investing in healthcare companies, which contribute to at least...

The ART of Finding Right Tails

Stockholm (HedgeNordic) – Philosopher Nassim Nicholas Taleb coined the term ‘Black Swan’ to describe the tendency to underestimate the likelihood of extreme, hard-to-predict events,...

Cevian Acquires Stake in Swiss Insurer

Stockholm (HedgeNordic) – Swedish activist investor Cevian Capital has unveiled a 3.12 percent stake in Swiss insurer Baloise Holding AG. The stake is valued...

Nordic Hedge Funds Sustain Momentum

Stockholm (HedgeNordic) – Following its strongest first quarter in 15 years, the Nordic hedge fund industry sustained momentum into April. As reflected by the...

The Hands-On Approach of NCI Advisory in Debt Investing

Stockholm (HedgeNordic) – With over 45 years of expertise in structured finance and debt asset management, Jørgen Beuchert has dedicated the last 15 years...

Hedge Fund Journal: Calculo Best in Commodity Trend Following

Stockholm (HedgeNordic) – Calculo Evolution Fund, a pure commodity trend-follower based in Denmark, has been recognized as the “Best Performing Commodity Trend Follower” over...

Allocator Interviews

Latest Articles

In-Depth: High Yield


Request for Proposal

- Advertisement -